I haven’t posted anything in a while … no photos, no updates. I suppose I’ve had a bit of writer/photographer block lately. I’ve been working very hard editing some wedding photographs, which I finished up last week. My clients loved them, and that made me feel so great ! Wedding photography is hard. Wow. But the reward is so worth it. I just love getting to capture a celebration of love like that πŸ™‚

Sometimes I write these little update posts because I want to be able to look back and remember certain things, certain moments, random thoughts and memories, likes and dislikes… here are a few that have struck me lately …

My sister in law’s father, whom I always call “Pap”, mostly because all the kiddos do, has been having some major health issues lately. Dementia at any age is an awful thing, for someone in their early 60’s, it is particularly devastating. We have all been reeling with how fast this thing is progressing, but we have been trying to revel in the happy memories and moments with him over the years. Pap always took a particular interest in C. Monster, and taught him some tunes on the guitar. Conno plays them often and after sharing that thought with my SIL, she told me that he never taught anybody else those things. It brought a tear to my eye thinking that Pap’s music will live on in Connor. Maybe Connor will pass them down to future generations. Maybe one day Jude will pick up a guitar and want to learn and his big cousin, Conno, can teach him Pap’s tunes. That thought brings a little smile to my face, because boy does my nephew adore his Pap !

Speaking of my nephew … Jude is 3. Do you happen to know any 3 year olds who are obsessed with the Titanic ? This is not a normal thing. Although a wee bit morbid, it is rather amusing to me. Jude-ah loves it. He wants to watch the movie (with most parts fast forwarded by the really-tired-of-watching-that-freaking-movie grownups in the key places, you know the naked lady drawing and ummmm, the people dying everywhere because the boat is sinking ? Ummm. Yeah. Jude things the Carpathia rescued all the passengers and everybody lived happily ever after.

I walked in the house last week and he grabs my hand and says “Aunt Michelle, help me !” and drags me upstairs to his room. He then has me carry ALL his Titanic books and about 20 pieces of copy paper with various Titanic pictures he has colored printed on them. He carries around this pile of papers everywhere. He then instructs me to read all the books to him, complaining when I say “S is for Sea Captain and not the correct line in the book, S is for Captain Smith” (yes, he knows the captain of the Titanic’s name). (Random thought … the ABC’s of the Titanic … really ???) After making me read the books to him (I really didn’t mind), he then instructs his mama to draw him the Titanic. He is a 3 year old dictator in the drawing instruction process, let me tell you. Below is the Titanic “Family” he ordered me to draw for him a few weeks ago … haha !

titanic family

He’s shouting “NO ! It needs lights ! Where’s the crow’s nest ? More lights !! Draw a hole ! Draw an iceberg .. NO!Β  The iceberg has to be bigger and make the hole ! … ” and on and on the instructions go … He is such a funny little boy. πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, Naomi is as dramatic as ever. That little girl is destined for Broadway. I took all the kiddos to see Frozen a few weeks ago, and she came out singing. So did Hannah Joy, actually. Nay sings “Let it Go” with all the gusto of a professional, complete with arms dramatically thrown above her head or open wide, eyes closed, singing to the heavens. She has always been a little song bird. I remember when she was two and obsessed with The Sound of Music and would command “Sing ‘A Female Deer’ !!!!!!” (Do Re Mi) and you’d sing a long with her over and over and over again … it was hysterical !

Hannah Joy is getting more grown up by the day. She will be taller than me at 12, I’m sure of it. On Friday night, she asked if I’d stay and watch Thor 2 with her. I love that even though she is 11, she still wants to snuggle with me on the couch. We snugged and watched the movie, which was awesome ! There was a shirtless Thor scene and Hannah says “Oh, he’s shiny !” … Indeed, he is πŸ˜‰

Melissa and I are always trying to share with her the most glorious things of our childhood, like hair curlers and making friendship bracelets and other various stuff of the 80’s … Sunday was Boy Band day. We played her Backstreet Boys songs and New Kids on the Block songs. She wasn’t impressed. I think that Hannah wouldn’t have been our friends when we were youngerΒ  πŸ˜‰ We definitely weren’t cool enough for her !

This posting turned into a total random and rambling update about my family … but I love them all to pieces and want to remember every detail. I’m so bad about cataloging it all … I want to be better, to write more about them and how amazing they all are πŸ™‚

Here are a few photos πŸ™‚

DSC_0024

20130824-DSC_3811-Edit

DSC_0125-Edit-Edit DSC_0139-Edit-Edit

Leave a Reply

