My Springtime Obsession … Cherry Blossoms !

Usually, around mid-March, I begin dreaming of the coming cherry blossoms of springtime. It’s probably because if I don’t dream of such springtime-like things, I will go insane and suffocate from the snow and die freezing in a boring world of white and cold. Dramatic, I know.

This year, I wanted so badly to pull off a trip to DC to see the cherry blossoms in bloom on the Tidal Basin. I made it to Washington DC a few years ago after an impulse trip to Baltimore for the night and spent a beautiful Sunday afternoon taking photos of the blossoms from every angle imaginable. All the trees were in bloom and I was a happy camper, indeed (although I’m thinking it wasn’t in fact peak when I was there because OMGosh were there 47856159615231023 bazillion people there this year and it wasn’t like that AT ALL a few years ago !)

I had the chance to go this year and it was beautiful, although SUPER MEGA HOLY COW crowded. We had an amazing time and I’m glad we went ! JG and I stayed with my Aunt Peggy and Pete, who were amazing hosts. I was so happy to be able to visit and spend time with them 🙂 They showed us around the festival and then we went exploring some of the other monuments. All in all, it was a perfect weekend spent with perfect company 🙂

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

I have to say that I think this photograph above is one of my favorite photographs I’ve ever taken. 🙂

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

Cherry Blossoms, Washington DC National Cherry Blossom Festival 2015 Photograph by MK Yeager Photography, Rochester NY

All I can say is … there’s more images to come 🙂 These were a few of my favorite close up shots.

On a side note, I was SO SO SO bummed that I forgot to bring my Tamron 60mm Macro lens. It had just been repaired, cleaned and calibrated too 😦

Leave a Reply

