Good Morning Sunshine ! {Cadillac Mountain, Acadia National Park, Maine}

The alarm on my phone blared to life at 4 am. I thought where am I ? Why is this happening ? I don’t want to get up ! I am SO COLD !!!!  I wiped the sleep from my eyes and went off in search of my dad. Of course he was awake, after all, he does go to bed at 3 o’clock in the afternoon. I kid. He goes to bed at 7pm. I was crabby and cold and completely excited because we were driving up to the summit of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park, ME to view the sunrise. I rushed to get my camera gear into the van, plugged our destination into the GPS and off we went to the top of the mountain. We made it JUST IN TIME for sunrise. Stepping out of the van, the bitter cold of the morning was breath taking. I could not believe it was memorial day weekend and I could see my breath on the air. I was woefully under dressed ! There were people dragging along their sleeping bags, blankets, and in winter parkas. Here I was in a light fleece. Lovely 🙂 It was a cloudy morning. You could only see a sliver of the sun peeking underneath the line of clouds. I didn’t care one bit. Cadillac Mountain, at 1,530 feet (466 meters), is the highest point along the North Atlantic seaboard and the first place to view sunrise in the United States, and here my dad and I were, taking in the awesome views ! Braving the FREEZING temps and winds were completely worth it. The view was spectacular and so was getting to experience it with my dad 🙂 20150524-MKY_4873-Editfbook

Leave a Reply

